Disclosure: Some of the links, pictures, and/or elements on this page may be affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase or take a qualified action.

There are four basic elements in astrology: fire, earth, air and water. Each zodiac sign corresponds with one of these four elements. The twelve zodiac signs can therefore be broken up into groupings of three, where each group of three corresponds to one common element. The elements can provide us with insight into the basic nature of each sign. While each of the twelve basic signs are unique and different in their own ways, the elements can also help us to see and understand the similarities between various signs.

Astrology Fire Signs and Correspondences

The three astrology fire signs are:

  • Aries (March 21 to April 19)
  • Leo (July 23 to August 22)
  • Sagittarius (November 22 to December 21)

Qualities: Hot, Dry, and Ardent

Season: Summer

Tarot: Wands

Color: Red

The Element of Fire

Think of a literal fire and what do you see? Whether burning yellow, orange, blue, or white hot, fire has the capacity to destroy, to burn through pretty much everything, regardless of whatever stands in its way. It is difficult to contain and doesn’t discriminate in what it burns. It is the great purifier. But the destruction that fire leaves behind in its wake is also fertile ground for new growth and new life.

Fire is also beautiful, hypnotizing, which also adds to the danger it poses. Unsuspecting children may reach out their hands to a burning flame, drawn by its how mesmerizing it is, only to get burned in the process.We use fire to cook the food that we eat, to heat the water that we drink, purifying them so that the small microorganisms that can be harmful to us are killed.

Fire generates heat that keeps us warm. Without the heat of the sun, life on earth would not thrive. Think of our ancestors keeping warm during cold nights with a burning fire. Fire is also a weapon, to keep the dangerous animals at bay in the dark nights. Fire aids us in our inventions. It helps to keep machines running, melts down objects such as metals and wax so that we can recreate them to our liking. Prometheus gave man the gift of fire, or so it was told, and was punished for it by the god Zeus. That gift of fire jumpstarted man’s progress, which grew by leaps and bounds. Think of how far in our stage of development we would be now if not for the gift of fire.

What makes astrology fire signs unique?

The astrology fire signs of Aries, Leo and Sagittarius have a basic nature that are like fire. They can get angry pretty quickly and they might be contrary and are always ready for a fight, regardless of who their opponent is. These signs don’t discriminate when burning hot with passionate anger. They can hurt the people around them with their harsh words and quick temper, oftentimes even when they don’t mean to, or even when they shouldn’t.

But these fire signs are charismatic, attractive, often dangerously so. Others are drawn to them because of the unique yet dangerous quality they seem to have, and people won’t often stop to think if it’s a good idea. Fire signs are interesting, exciting, and they make life exciting for the people around them, too. They bring a touch of life and vitality to mundane things. They like to create, they like movement and action and excitement. Fire signs are spontaneous, jumping into situations headfirst regardless of the risks.

For these fire signs, life is about moving forward, not backward, and not about sitting still to ruminate. Sure they may sometimes be hasty and impulsive, and leave a trail of destruction in their wake. But life to them is about creating new things out of the ruins of failure. They are endlessly optimistic, and perhaps this is because they understand, on an instinctual level, that nothing in the world is ever really destroyed completely. New things can always grow from death and ruin, and the fire signs are often the catalyst for the destruction of the old and the ushering in of the new.

Astrological fire signs are passionate, and are often difficult to control. They are certainly confident, and sometimes this can spill over into obnoxious arrogance. But fire people are often not mean-spirited or disingenuous. They get excited or angry or passionate and they act, often without thinking things through. They usually lead with their emotions, and once the fires of those emotions burn out, they move on. Fire signs wear their emotions on their sleeves, and what you see is what you get. They would much rather be honest with what they are feeling so they hardly if ever harbor any sly intentions.

Each of the three signs of Aries, Leo and Sagittarius each demonstrate different qualities of fire, which as we have already seen is a pretty versatile element, despite its basic nature. The elements are never just a one-dimensional thing, just as fire can be destructive and frightening one moment and warming and nurturing the next. The differences might be subtle, or might even appear to be completely opposite things, but it is still the fire element manifesting itself in myriad ways.

Balancing Fire

The challenge for fire signs is finding a way to balance their explosive emotions so that they do not get carried away. While it is true that astrological fire signs may lack a bit of finesse in their manner of expressing themselves, they do not necessarily need to straddle the extremes of that kind of expression all the time. Fire can be both destructive and yet warm and creative at the same time. The trick is finding the right manner of appropriate expression for the corresponding situation. There is a time for everything and burning hot all the time can literally burn you out. There may be a time to fight, but there is also a time to be mellow and nurturing. You do not need to run through everybody and everything when you are intent on going after your goals.

While astrological signs may fall under one of the four elements, this simply means that signs are predominantly, but not exclusively, just one element. So even if you are a fire sign, you have a mix of the other elements in you, too. Tap into earth to ground yourself, water to calm your nerves, and air for its logical nature. Balance is something that you achieve inside, by working on it, rather than something imposed upon you by external controls.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This